The Independent Music Collective (IMC) is a student organization at the University of South Alabama that works together with USA faculty, staff, alumni, and members of the broader community in an effort to enrich Mobile's music scene. Founded in 2009, the IMC has two main endeavors:

1) The IMC sponsors a listening-room concert series that features roots musicians and Americana acts. As it is our goal to augment the local scene, we strive to book national performers who otherwise might not play in Mobile. Over the past several years, the IMC’s concert series has become one of the premier listening-room stopovers in the Southeast. We've hosted numerous nationally acclaimed musicians, including Dan Bern, Malcolm Holcombe, Otis Gibbs, Richard Buckner, Will Johnson, Tim Easton, Eef Barzelay, Charlie Parr, Kevin Gordon, Scott H. Biram, Lydia Loveless, and Hurray for the Riff Raff.

2) In addition to our concert series, the IMC also coordinates with local venues, promoters, and organizations to help publicize and promote other Mobile-area music events.

The 2017/18 IMC officers are Sarah Donovan (co-president), John Walker (co-president), Elle McCluskey (vice president), Marshal Trigg (treasurer), Alexis Millender (secretary), Natalie Williams (advertising), Shelby Savage (recruitment), Gabriel Simm (fundraising), and Sarah Grizzle (marketing). The officers are assisted by the IMC advisory board, led by Dr. Justin St. Clair (IMC faculty adviser). Other 2017/18 advisory board members include Dr. Steven Almquist (Spring Hill College), Daniel Commander, Rachael Fowler, Austin Ray, Campbell Walker, Jennifer Shelby, and Trenton Hughes.

If you'd like to play for us, or want to suggest a band that you'd like to see visit Mobile, please email us at